>LESSONS I’VE LEARNED FROM MY PETS

>I can’t remember a time when I didn’t share my household with animals.   At the moment, I live communally with two cats and a dog who are as wise as they are useful.  Though devoted to such household duties as raiding the bathroom garbage and coughing up mouse bits, my animals have also taught me invaluable life lessons, which I now share with the world:

Lessons I’ve Learned From My Dog

1.  Don’t take yourself too seriously.  Life is funny, and so are you.

2.  Run until your tongue hangs out, then drink until the water drips down your face.

3.  Greet a returning loved one with unmistakable joy–sloppy kisses are optional.

4.  Don’t be too proud to eat leftovers.

5.  Sometimes you just have to throw back your head and howl.

6.  There’s no calamity a belly rub won’t cure.

7.  Big, brown eyes are worth their weight in gold.

8.  Sniff it, lick it, or scratch it. That’s what it’s there for.

9.  Loyalty is a virtue.

10.  Herder, ratter, pointer, retriever–all God’s creatures have a job to do.

Lessons I’ve Learned From My Cats

1.  Sleep often, and sleep deeply.

2.  Eat slowly and savor every bite.

3.  Don’t be too easy; your time and friendship should be earned.

4.  Made-you-look and stare-down are games of great skill.

5.  Long nails:  not just for looks!

6.  It’s ok to get nip-faced once in awhile.

7. Walk softly, but carry a big attitude.

8.  A sun spot is a thing of joy.

9.  Have some dignity.

10.  Being independent doesn’t mean you can’t cuddle up in someone’s lap for a good, long purr.

How lucky I am to be schooled in the art of living by such clever and patient teachers.  Now I must wonder:  What have my furry friends learned from me?

Leave a Reply

