HEART SHAPED STONE

All you need is love. . .

When he was young, my son loved to go on walks, using his keen little-boy eyes to scout for treasures.  What parent hasn’t experienced the excitement (and apprehension)  of unloading a little fellow’s pockets on laundry day?  After a particularly fortuitous walk, he presented me with a stone.  He didn’t really say anything; the message was the stone itself:  it was shaped like a heart.

 The heart-shaped stone has sat on my kitchen windowsill ever since, a reminder of feelings that are apparent even when not spoken.  Love lives in this house.  Over the years, the heart-shaped stone has shared its space on the windowsill with other serindipitous objects: heart-shaped jelly beans, toy hearts, flower petals. . .while peeling a butternut squash for Thanksgiving dinner, we discovered the cross-sectioned interior resembled a heart, and briefly flirted with the idea of displaying it alongside the stone.  But my soup recipe was calling, and stones don’t draw fruit-flies.

I picked up the heart-shaped stone today while clearing away some other kitchen clutter.  I held it in my hand and smiled.  Once evident of a little boy’s love for mommy, it continues to remind me to look for the love that’s all around; to look for love in unexpected places.  The heart-shaped stone will always reside on my windowsill.  And when I’m gone, I want it to be passed along so its message abides.

~ All you need is love.

~ And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.

~ Brief is life, but love is long.

~ For God so loved the world, He gave His only begotten son.

~ And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

One thought on “HEART SHAPED STONE

  1. That’s really lovely. My son once gave me a present, a “box of love”, which was an empty wrapped gift box with it written what was inside. I’ve kept it forever.

Leave a Reply

