ANGRY POETRY: FALSE HERO

 

You said you’d be my hero
I’ll fight for you, you said
My hope was hung on pretty words
Spoken like a melody, and I
Believed your song in my despair

You said you’d be my hero
You’re safe with me, you said
Then pulled your white hat down low
Over both your faces, so I
Couldn’t see the lies you’d hidden there

And when you talk about me
When you sit and talk with friends
Do you say I got what I deserved?
Nothing you could do, would do
To stop the train wreck barreling down?

Washed my pain down with a beer
And my loss was your amusement
Do you say I got what was coming to me?
Pretended you cared, you dared
To turn your back and watch me drown

Are you happy now, hero?
Put a shine on your little tin star
And move on to the next suffering fool
Offer a life line, a good sign
While crossing fingers behind you

Next time, I’m my own hero
A hero who knows right from wrong
Carry a shiny shield and sharp sword
To defeat my foe, you know
Those goddamned false saviors who

Smile a joker’s smile. . .
Cry a liar’s tears. . .
Throw a silken rope that
Turns to a choking noose. . .

You said you’d be my hero
I’ll fight for you, you said
I hung by the neck from pretty words
Left twitching, retching, and gasping
While you rode off into the sunset

Of another day’s work. . .
Another job well done. . .
Another innocent lost. . .
Champion to no one.

Leave a Reply

