THREE O’CLOCK LOVE SONG

Three A.M. and I’m a cat
Sleep a mouse hiding in corners
My mind reels and muscles ache
Soul tired fighting scary monsters

Above the pounding of my heart
Your breathing, soft and low
The sound brings rhythm to my life
And makes the fear let go

My hand is gentle on your chest
To feel it rise and fall
Don’t wake up, I’ll just watch you sleep
And whisper of my love

The world outside has turned unkind
Tries to drag us both along
But we won’t go, no we won’t go
This world will see how strong

We are when we’re together
A fortress built by stone
By fight, by smile, by victory
A mighty palace has grown

Safe inside the castle keep
We watch the raging wars
Fly our colors, sing our songs
Defend our sacred doors

I smell the fragrance of your hair
Feel the comfort of your skin
My pounding heart begins to calm
To think of where we’ve been

And where we’ve yet to go
We’ll decide in morning’s light
The love I feel here in your arms
Will get me through the night

The world outside has turned unkind
Tries to take us both along
But we won’t go, no we won’t go
This world will see how strong

We are when we’re together. . .

Leave a Reply

