BEFORE I KNEW

I knew you before, before I knew
What just your smile, just your words could do

Now you come in private schemes
In blushing thoughts, in wicked dreams

Tangled, we spend the afternoon with little fires burning
And nothing but our own sweet sweat to soothe delicious yearning

When the air that I breathe
Is  filled with your scent
And my tongue remembers
The taste of your skin
That’s how I know I’m where I belong
And I’ll never go back again

Writing myself day by day, I live a work of fiction
A story that’s sometimes hard to read, in need of revision

That was before, before I knew
What just your laugh, just your touch could do

How your granite eyes like winter skies
See secrets hidden by my disguise

When the air that I breathe
Is  filled with your scent
And my tongue remembers
The taste of your skin
That’s when I know I’m where I belong
And I’ll never go back again

I knew you before, before I knew
What just your heart, just your love could do

2 thoughts on “BEFORE I KNEW

  1. Wow, what a great little poem. I love the way that it flows and every line is perfect. Well done.

    Also, where is that picture from? I like it also.

Leave a Reply

