2012: HAVE A CONTEMPLATIVE, MELANCHOLY NEW YEAR!

Come the stroke of twelve
There will be no boozy celebration,
No sweeping proclamation
Of  life reformed and renewed.

When the big moment comes,
I won’t lift my glass to the ceiling
And vow to be frugal,
Give up meat, visit the gym.

I resolve
     to hibernate
           to insulate
                 to isolate.

I’ll bulletproof my heart,
Bubblewrap my soul,
Spin a Kevlar cocoon
And hide safely inside

While a graceless world
     snipes
          and
               shoots.

My promise is
To shake off the paper mache,
No longer a pinata,
Poked and beaten until I burst

And vultures peck
     at 
          my
               innards.

As the crystal ball drops,
Confetti flies and lovers kiss,
I’ll raise walls and slam doors,
Build a fortress for myself

And become
     solitary
            closed off
                   unyielding.

Three hundred sixty-five days
To rinse away the salt,
Powder over the bruises,
And prepare to rise again.

~lisa

Leave a Reply

